5 Healthy Living Goals for the Year

5 Healthy Living Goals for the Year

This year I have a few healthy living goals. The last half of 2016 didn’t quite go according to plan, and I feel like I have some catching up to do this year in order to gain back some of the momentum I lost. Therefore, most of my healthy living goals this year are similar or the same as they were last year, and I’m perfectly okay with that! Here they are:

#1: Completing the Inspire the Best You Virtual 5K Run/Walk this Saturday, January 28th.

This race can be done from anywhere, anytime on that date. Even though I haven’t been able to train properly for the 5K due to being sick, working a lot, and then it being rainy here for the past month, I am so excited to do this 5K! I will be mapping out my route in the next couple of days, measuring it online so I know I’m going far enough without overlapping too much. It may not be a big 5K race with a finish line, but I have been planning for this for a couple months now and it’s finally almost here!

#2: Stick with a strength training routine for at least three months at a time.

In the entire two and a half years I have been on my healthy living journey, I have not been able to stick with a strength training routine longer than maybe a month at once. So I am making this three months goal for this year. Even if it takes me the whole year to achieve this three months in a row, I am determined to make it happen! I have a strength training routine that I like that has good moves for runners, which I need to get back to as well, and I plan on starting that one again.

#3: Tinker Bell Half Marathon in May!

Yippee! This is another thing I am super excited about. It will be my second year doing the race and I know I will be so much more prepared and properly trained this time, so I’m looking forward to it even more. I’m sure the nerves will set in closer to the race, but for now I’m just excited. I hope to be able to visit Disneyland while I’m down there this time as I didn’t have enough funds to do it last year. This time I am much closer and travel costs will be way down since I don’t have to use a charter bus, flight, and shuttle service all in one trip. I will only have one mode of transportation and that takes a ton of the anxiety out of it too.

#4: Two Cities Full Marathon in November.

When they had the 2016 race, I was really out of shape. We had just finished our big cross-country move and I hadn’t been able to stay on track with exercise or much of anything else because it was such an extensive and long-lasting process. I was hoping I would have at least been able to do one of the half marathon options, but I wasn’t able to do any of it at all. This coming year, I will do the whole marathon. I’m really looking forward to it, to fulfilling such an amazing accomplishment and proving how far my body can go. I know it can handle a full marathon if I train well enough, and I will!

#5: Lose the weight I gained over the summer last year.

With all the packing, clearing out of two houses, the month in hotels in the midst of our cross country move, and much more, my weight loss efforts went out the window. I gained quite a bit of weight back. Not all of it, not even half of the weight I had lost total, but it was still too much! I am still in the process of getting that weight off. It’s been a bit of a struggle as we’ve settled in and other various issues have popped up along the way, but I’m continuing to move forward and make progress, and that’s what matters.

So there you have it, my five healthy living goals of 2017. Goals that make me excited and will be fun to accomplish! I will achieve every one, or at least give it my all to achieve them. I just know that this year will be an amazing one full of growth and progress in all aspects!

What are your healthy living goals for 2017? How are they going so far? Just because we’re nearly a month into the New Year, doesn’t mean you have to let go of your goals if they’re not going according to plan. Recommit and adjust as needed and then keep moving forward!

 

~Bonnie~

23 thoughts on “5 Healthy Living Goals for the Year

  1. Oh wow! I wish you the best of luck on the full marathons. I could train for three months and still not be able to run even a 5K. (I’m not exaggerating. I use to run as a teenager and couldn’t ever seem to built up some stamina. I’m heavily built for sprinting, apparently.)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Best of luck on these goals! I always love looking back on my goals later to see what I’ve accomplished! These all seem to be ones you’re very passionate about!

    Like

Leave a Reply

